Aubespin Merv
Merv Aubespin was a pivotal voice behind the formation of ACES in the late 1990s.

Finding and hiring talented copy editors has always been challenging, but a world hungry for information needs copy editors more than ever. To help meet that need, ACES has awarded scholarships to deserving students since 1999.

The ACES Education Fund now makes five awards to students each year: four scholarships of $1,500 each and one of $2,500. The top award is named for Merv Aubespin, a former president of the National Association of Black Journalists and a longtime champion of copy editors.

And now, the ACES Education Fund will award a sixth scholarship, the Bill Walsh Scholarship, honoring the former Education Fund board member, longtime language author and ACES presenter. Details of this new scholarship are still being finalized.

2016-2017 Recipients

Aubespin Scholar for $2,500: Kathryn Krawczyk, Syracuse University

ACES scholars for $1,500: Natalia Alamdari, University of Missouri; Beverly Godfrey, College of St. Scholastica in Duluth, Minn.; Danny Nett, University of North Carolina; Harri Leigh Plotnick, Syracuse University.

Who can apply for the award?

College juniors and seniors, graduate students, and recent college graduates. You must have been in school for at least one full term or be enrolled for such during the period that applications are open. Previous scholarship winners are not eligible … we’ve already told you how awesome you are once! Students in countries other than the United States may apply, but all entry materials must be in English.

How much is awarded?

Each year we award one $2,500 Aubespin Award and four $1,500 awards. In addition, each winner receives free registration and money toward travel for the upcoming ACES national conference.

What are the award criteria?

A commitment to a career in copy editing; exemplary work and academic achievement; recommendations from teachers and work supervisors.

What is the deadline?

Apply before Nov. 15, 2017.

Apply Here

Contact Alex Cruden for more information.

Donate To ACES Education Fund: