Do you know a great editor? You can encourage their work by nominating someone (or yourself!) for ACES’ annual Robinson Prize. The prize honors an "editor of the year" whose work exemplifies the values that ACES promotes. In addition to national recognition, the winner receives $2,000 and a spiffy crystal trophy.

The prize is named for Pam Robinson, a founder and past president of ACES. One of Pam’s goals was to make editors more visible in the workplace and to encourage them to take a constructive role in the publishing process.

Nominees are evaluated on a combination of elements, which can include editing, design, mentoring and training, fostering a sense of teamwork and pride among colleagues, and anything else that furthers the craft of professional editing.

“This award isn’t designed to applaud the best speller or the best grammarian,” says former ACES President Teresa Schmedding, who helped establish the award in 2005. “Being a good wordsmith isn’t enough. Today’s editors need to be skilled in conflict resolution, show excellent judgment, demonstrate initiative, and be able to find creative solutions to help their publications succeed in this era filled with increased competition.”

The 2022 Robinson Prize nomination period has ended. The next nomination period will open on January 1, 2023.

Robinson Prize Recipients

2022: Talysa Sainz

2021: Emily Ayubi

2020: Laura Poole

2019: Rob Reinalda

2018: Karen S. Conlin

2016: Karen Yin, Conscious Style Guide

2015: Sarah Grey

2014: Larissa Newton

2013: Katharine O’Moore-Klopf

2012: Doris Truong, Washington Post

2011: Kim Profant, Chicago Tribune

2010: Andy Angelo, The Grand Rapids (Mich.) Press

2009: Beth Blair, Boy Scouts of America

2008: Michael Roehrman, The Wichita Eagle

2007: Adam Smith, The Augusta Chronicle

2006: Tim Lynch, Los Angeles Times

2005: Paul Soucy, USA Today