Nominations open for ACES Executive Committee

Nominations open for ACES Executive Committee

December 15, 2020 By ACES Staff ACES News

Full members have an opportunity to play a big role in ACES, and to develop professionally and personally themselves, by joining the Executive Committee. Nominations will be accepted Dec. 15 – Jan. 15.

Five positions on the Executive Committee will be up for election: three at-large positions, as well as the Secretary and Treasurer positions.

To nominate yourself or someone else:

Vice President Samantha Enslen will be resigning her position effective April 2021. The Executive Committee voted to appoint Neil Holdway to serve the second year of the vice presidential term.

Nick Jungman is running for re-election as Treasurer. Three of the at-large board incumbents whose terms are expiring in 2021 will be running to keep their seats as well. 

Executive Committee members work as volunteers and regularly meet and vote to determine ACES’ direction. They are expected to devote a few hours each week to various projects and committees. Executive Committee members are expected to attend the annual conference and their regular annual meeting and are expected to attend periodic Executive Committee meetings in person or by phone. The secretary and treasurer have further duties. All are summarized in ACES’ bylaws.

Electronic ballots will be available Feb. 15 to March 1. Voting information will be sent to each eligible member in good standing, as of Feb. 15, via email. Voting will be done through a secure online ballot.

More information on the candidates will be provided at that time.

ACES’ Executive Committee members lead a major nonprofit organization that now serves more than 4,100 members, and advocates for editing in various businesses, media, and platforms. ACES has thrived and grown thanks to scores of volunteer board members over two decades — and those board members have learned business and leadership skills themselves — and now ACES seeks its next leaders to take it into the future.

Header Photo by Carlos Arthur M.R on Unsplash

Recent Posts

How to sell your boss on sending you to an ACES conference

For translation editors: Four practices for maximizing your value

Working from home with kids