Nominations open for ACES Executive Committee

Nominations open for ACES Executive Committee

December 15, 2019 By ACES Staff ACES News

Full members have an opportunity to play a big role in ACES, and to develop professionally and personally themselves, by joining the Board of Directors. Nominations will be accepted Dec. 15 – Jan. 15.

Seven positions on the Board of Directors will be up for election: five at-large positions, as well as the President and Vice President positions.

To nominate yourself or someone else:

Sara Ziegler is running for re-election as president. Samantha Enslen is running for re-election as vice president. Four of the at-large board incumbents whose terms are expiring in 2020 will be running to keep their seats as well, with one board member choosing not to run again.

Board of Directors members work as volunteers and regularly meet and vote to determine ACES’ direction. They are expected to devote a few hours each week to various projects and committees. Board of Directors members are expected to attend the annual conference and their regular annual meeting, and are expected to attend periodic Board of Directors meetings in person or by phone. The president and vice president have further duties. All are summarized in ACES’ bylaws.

Electronic ballots will be available Feb. 15 to March 1. Voting information will be sent to each eligible member in good standing, as of Feb. 1, via email. Voting will be done through a secure online ballot.

More information on the candidates will be provided at that time.

ACES’ Board of Directors members lead a major nonprofit organization that now serves more than 3,500 members, and advocates for editing in various businesses, media and platforms. ACES has thrived and grown thanks to scores of volunteer board members over two decades — and those board members have learned business and leadership skills themselves — and now ACES seeks its next leaders to take it into the future.

Header Photo by Carlos Arthur M.R on Unsplash

Recent Posts

Volunteer for the Keynote Speaker Task Force

Volunteer for the Conference Session Selection Task Force

Present at ACES VCON24