Two new members join three incumbents elected to ACES board

March 25, 2015 By ACES Staff ACES News

Two new members will join the ACES Executive Committee for the next two years after member balloting conducted in February. Three current Executive Committee members also were returned to the board during the election.

Sara Ziegler, deputy features editor of the Omaha World-Herald, ran unopposed for treasurer. She will replace Neil Holdway, assistant managing editor/copy desk at the Daily Herald in Arlington Heights, Ill. Holdway did not run for re-election to the officer post, but was elected to a non-officer board post in the election.

Ziegler is joined as a news board member by Nick Jungman, director of student media at the University of Oklahoma.

Jungman was the third highest vote-getter among seven people running for three Executive Committee positions. The top two vote-getters were Holdway and Samantha Enslen, a board incumbent.

Also re-elected with no opposition was Brady Jones, the board treasurer.

A total of 191 ACES members cast ballots in the election, which was open from Feb. 15 to March 1.

The turnout is typical for recent ACES elections.

All terms are for two years, beginning on the final day of the Pittsburgh conference on March 29 and continuing until the end of the 2017 conference.

Election to the board is not the only way to be a leader in ACES, and many opportunities exist to promote ACES and its work through committees, contests, and regional chapters and conferences.

The votes received by each candidate were:

Treasurer: Sara Ziegler – 184 votes
Secretary:  Brady Jones (i) – 184 votes

Neil Holdway (i) – 139 votes
Samantha Enslen (i) – 139 votes
Nick Jungman – 87 votes
Patricia Cole – 85 votes
John Cords – 39 votes
Darren Nielson – 36 votes
Amber Krosel – 36 votes.

Recent Posts

Ten Signs of “Lifted” Text

Editing in the Digital Age

ACES announces award winners and more at 2019 annual conference